‘I have no doubt that South African runners will be competitive here’

Expatriate South African trainer Mat de Kock, one half of the Griffiths-de Kock racing operation at Cranbourne and the son of champion trainer Mike de Kock, has implored his home country breeders to step up to the plate at the Bloodstock South Africa National Yearling Sale. Young de Kock, who has trained 218 winners, eight... Read More

Circle Of Fire

Amid the huge buzz about shuttle sensation Wootton Bassett (Iffraaj) – his mega purchase by Coolmore, his northern hemisphere Group 1 winners, his first-season yearling prices in Australia, and more – there’s a very close direct link who’s been more quietly but assuredly building his own impressive CV down here for years. And Saturday’s Sydney... Read More

Seascape (AUS)

2 f I Am Invincible – Adrift by Zabeel O: Fairway Thoroughbreds (J Camilleri) B: Fairway Thoroughbreds T: Michael Freedman W: EVE Electrical Handicap, 1100m, April 10, Gosford The Michael Freedman-trained filly Seascape (I Am Invincible) produced an impressive display to score on her debut at Gosford on Wednesday. Jumping from barrier 11 under Tom... Read More

‘I think the expectations out there are a bit greater than what’s really happening at the moment’

Long-time Australian owner and breeder Max Whitby says he’s never seen anything like what he witnessed at the Inglis Easter sale this week – and he’s not referring to the $10 million daughter of Winx (Street Cry). Whitby sold three yearlings through the North draft at the Easter sale: a $350,000 Ole Kirk (Written Tycoon)... Read More

It’s In The Blood

“Buy the horse you dream about”, the Inglis advertising said. But for a couple of shrewd breeders, the one they sold turned out to be the horse of their dreams this Easter. Kerrie Tibbey, the septuagenarian owner of Goodwood Farm, went “a little bit naughty” three years ago in paying $25,000 for an unraced and... Read More

Froebel Star (AUS)

Froebel Star (AUS) 2 f Zousain – Germayne Lass by Stromberg Carlson O: CMR Ladies, Ms H Wall, Mrs C M Mayne, Miss E Palmer, Mrs KL Thompson, Mrs R Langley, Ms JW Dingwall, Mrs RM Tchetchenian, Mrs LM Sewgoolam & Mrs DA Bourne B: BM Nolan T: Ciaron Maher S: 2023 Magic Millions Gold... Read More